Mr Craig Roy FAICD, MBA, MSC – Chairperson

Craig is an experienced executive and company director. He is currently Chair of Silex Systems Limited (ASX: SLX) and a Director of Sydney Water. Previous director appointments have included: Chair of Data 61, the Board of the Australian National Commission of UNESCO and of the University of Technology, Sydney Vice Chancellor’s Industry Board.

Craig is a former Deputy CEO of the CSIRO, a position he held from 2010 to 2018. CSIRO is Australia’s pre-eminent national science and technology organisation. Craig has extensive experience in research and commercialisation strategy, innovation and entrepreneurship across a wide range of global projects and industry sectors. His career also includes two decades as an officer of the Royal Australian Navy.

Craig was awarded a Masters of Science Degree for Royal Roads Military College in Canada, a Masters of Business Administration from Macquarie Graduate School of Management, a Bachelor of Science (Mathematics) from University of NSW and he is a qualified Meteorologist through the Australian Bureau of Meteorology. Craig is also a graduate of Stanford University Senior Executive Program and is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and University of Technology Sydney.

Professor Joe Shapter

Joe is Pro Vice Chancellor (Research Infrastructure) at The University of Queensland (UQ). He has previously been Professor of Nanotechnology and Dean of the School of Chemical and Physical Sciences at Flinders University. He was the founding Director of the Defence Science and Technology Organisation (DSTO) funded Centre of Expertise in Energetic Materials (CEEM) and was the Director of the South Australian node of the Australian Microscopy and Microanalysis Facility (AMMRF, now Microscopy Australia).

Joe is currently a Board Member of Microscopy Australia and member of the Terrestrial Ecosystem Research Network (TERN) Advisory Board.  In addition to these commitments, Joe also serves on the board of National Imaging Facility (NIF) and Queensland Cyber Infrastructure Facility (QCIF Ltd).

Dr Sue Barrell, FTSE

Sue was Chief Scientist at the Bureau of Meteorology, the culmination of a long Bureau career spanning forecasting, research, science/climate/data policy and leadership roles in IT, observations and science. She represented Australia internationally at the World Meteorological Organization (WMO), UNFCCC, IPCC and the Group on Earth Observations.

Sue chaired the Australian Telescope National Facility and served on the Space Industry Innovation Council, the boards of the National Computational Infrastructure and Integrated Marine Observing System, and as Vice-President of Science and Technology Australia (STA).

She continues her commitment to science, leadership and gender equity through roles including Chair of Australia’s Marine National Facility Steering Committee, member of University of Technology Sydney Council and Australian Mathematical Sciences Institute board, and chair of a WMO Study Group charged with reviewing international policies and practices in relation to data access and exchange.

Sue is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and was an inaugural STA Superstar of STEM in 2017/18. She has a BSc (Hons) in Physics, Graduate Diploma in Meteorology and a PhD in Astronomy.

Mr Russell Yardley

Russell was previously chair of Nectar. He is a professional company director whose board experience includes Chairman ASX listed Powerhouse Ventures, Chairman ASX listed Tesserent, Chairman of Alcidion Limited, Chairman of Readify Limited, Board Member of Wunderman, Bienalto, the Victorian Government Purchasing Board and the Alannah and Madeline Foundation. He is an experienced director, entrepreneur and innovator, with expertise in technology, strategic & business planning and an extensive knowledge of government.

 Russell was appointed a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors in 2012. His expertise has been recognised by SmartCompany as one of Australia’s 12 Most Influential People in Technology and as an Honorary Member of the Australian Computer Society.

Ms Toni Moate

Toni is CSIRO Director, National Collections & Marine Infrastructure, based in Hobart. Previous positions at CSIRO include Deputy Chief – Science Operations, Deputy Chief Business and Finance Manager.

She is a CPA and won the Telstra Tasmanian Businesswoman of the Year in 2017. Toni is currently an ex-officio board member for the Atlas of Living Australia and a member of the Project Steering Committee for RSV Nuyina, The Australian Antarctic Division’s new science and resupply vessel.

Ms Anne-Marie Lansdown

Anne-Marie is Deputy Chief Executive at Universities Australia. She has been Chief of Staff to Australia’s Chief Scientist, Dr Alan Finkel. Prior to that she was Universities Australia’s Policy Director, Research and Innovation, and was promoted to Deputy Chief Executive and leader of policy in 2014. Anne-Marie worked for 15 years as a senior executive in the Department of Industry and was one of the original architects of the National Collaborative Research Infrastructure Strategy (NCRIS).

She has been involved in policy and planning for the Education Investment Fund, the Prime Minister’s Science, Engineering and Innovation Council (PMSEIC), and Australia’s first National Broadband Strategy. She also has considerable experience in the international arena, including with the United Nations and the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development.